U.N. Authorizes no-fly zone over Libya 

U.N. Security Council members voted Thursday evening on resolution 1973 to impose a no-fly zone over Libya and authorize "all necessary measures" to protect civilians from attacks by Moammar Gadhafi's forces.

As permanent members continue to speak at the United Nations headquarters Thursday evening, the vote was finalized with 10 nations in favor of the resolution. The resolution requires an immediate cease fire, a no fly zone and authorizes member states to protect civilians and opposition members fighting off violent attacks by Gadhafi security forces. It rules out occupational forces on the ground.

The  United States, Great Britain, France, Bosnia, Herzegovina, Colombia, Gabon, Lebanon, Nigeria, Portugal and South Africa voted in favor of the resolution. Nine votes were needed to pass the resolution.

However, Russia, China, Germany, Brazil and India chose to abstain, stating that a military option  is not an acceptable at this time.

About The Author

Sara A. Carter

Pin It

More by Sara A. Carter

© 2018 The San Francisco Examiner

Website powered by Foundation