Twenty Democrats did not vote for Pelosi for Speaker 

Call it an attempt to insulate themselves for 2012, or just a protest, but 20 House Democrats did not vote for Nancy Pelosi for Speaker of the House. There doesn't seem to have been much agreement about whom to back. Here are the names:

Voting for Rep. Heath Shuler, D-N.C.:

Jason Altmire
Dan Boren
Jim Cooper
Joe Donnelly (Ind.)
Tim Holden
Larry Kissell
Jim Matheson
Mike McIntyre
Mike Michaud
Mike Ross (Ark.)
Heath Shuler

Voting for Rep. John Lewis, D-Ga.:
John Barrow
Gabbie Giffords

Voting for Rep. Dennis Cardoza, D-Calif.:

Jim Costa

Voting for Rep. Jim Costa, D-Calif.:
Dennis Cardoza

Voting for Rep. Jim Cooper, D-Tenn.:
Ron Kind

Voting for Rep. Marcy Kaptur, D-Ohio:
Dan Lipinski

Voting for Rep. Steny Hoyer, D-Md.:
Kurt Schrader


Sanford Bishop

Not Voting:
Peter DeFazio

About The Author

David Freddoso

David Freddoso came to the Washington Examiner in June 2009, after serving for nearly two years as a Capitol Hill-based staff reporter for National Review Online. Before writing his New York Times bestselling book, The Case Against Barack Obama, he spent three years assisting Robert Novak, the legendary Washington... more
Pin It

More by David Freddoso

Latest in Nation

© 2018 The San Francisco Examiner

Website powered by Foundation