School board elects new leaders 

The San Francisco Unified School District Board of Education has new leadership.

At its first school board meeting of the New Year, the seven-member board unanimously voted Commissioner Hydra Mendoza as president and Commission Norman Yee to serve as vice president.

The meeting also signifies the first year of Mendoza’s second four-year term.

Mendoza was reelected to the board along with Commissioner Kim-Shree Maufas. Emily Murase was also elected to her first term. Murase takes the seat vacated by Jane Kim, who was elected to the Board of Supervisors during the November election.

Kim served as president of the school board during 2010.

The school board elects new leaders every calendar year.

Pin It

More by Andrea Koskey

Latest in Government & Politics

© 2019 The San Francisco Examiner

Website powered by Foundation