Recruits ready to make commitments official 

City College of San Francisco football coach George Rush has said if you play well for the Rams, Division I scouts will notice. Fifteen CCSF players have proven that, transferring to major-college programs. Their impact will be felt today on national signing day as colleges reveal the prospects who have joined their programs.

Quarterback Zac Lee (Nebraska) and linebacker Devin Bishop (Cal) are two of the headline transfers from a team that went 10-2, won CCSF’s 15th NorCal Conference title in the past 17 years and reached the state title game before losing 49-35 to El Camino College.

"All the guys played extremely hard and did everything we asked them to do," Rush said. "And that’s all you can ask."

Lee, who played at St. Ignatius High School, will join the Cornhuskers after completing 188 of 295 passes and throwing for 2,788 yards,27 touchdowns and just five interceptions as a redshirt freshman.

He sustained a knee injury in the state title game, but according to Rush will be ready to play this season.

Bishop had 45 tackles to lead CCSF and will follow older brother Desmond (who has used up his eligibility) in playing for the Bears.

Other top recruits earning scholarships from CCSF include wide receiver Kenny O’Neal (Tennessee), offensive linemen Alesana Alesana (Kansas State) and Ako Poti (Penn State), running back Tyreece Jacks (Sacramento State), tight end Anthony Eustace (Texas A&M), wide receiver Terrance Williams (San Jose State) and defensive backs Durell Clark-James (Minnesota) and De’Shon Sanders (Texas Tech).

CCSF quarterbacks Kyle Barker (Sacramento State) and Jimmy Collins (Portland State), offensive linemen Chris Hannon (Arizona) and James Turner (Hofstra) and defensive back Alex Keyes (Hobart) will all walk on as non-scholarship players, Rush said.

The College of San Mateo will also send a number of players on to the next level.

Quarterback Jose Avina (St. Augustine College), offensive lineman Nate Clements (Benedictine College), defensive linemen Ray Hisatake (Hawaii), Latu Moala (Oregon State) and Jose Bonilla (Missouri Western), linebacker Francis Maka (Hawaii) and defensive backs John Harris (San Jose State), Ryan Kelly (Eastern Washington) and Drew Ryan (San Jose State) will all join new programs.

On the high school level, West Catholic Athletic League Lineman of the Year Matt Summers-Gavin of St. Ignatius earned a scholarship to Cal. Other Wildcats who will be playing next year include tight end Chris Blohm (Yale) and running back Ryan Kirkpatrick (Colorado College).

Among Peninsula preps, Menlo-Atherton defensive end Jesse Fifita has earned a scholarship to Oregon State, where Bears teammate Saia Haatoa (a fullback and linebacker) will likely join him as a walk-on.

About The Author

Staff Report

Staff Report

A daily newspaper covering San Francisco, San Mateo County and serving Alameda, Marin and Santa Clara counties.
Pin It

Speaking of Sports

More by Staff Report

Latest in Other Sports

© 2018 The San Francisco Examiner

Website powered by Foundation