Perry, Palin left off Ames Straw Poll ballot 

Looks like Texas Gov. Rick Perry and former Alaska Gov. Sarah Palin will not appear on the Ames Straw Poll ballot, according to

Here's the site's report:

Texas Gov. Rick Perry and former Alaska Gov. Sarah Palin have been left off the ballot for the Aug. 13 Ames Straw Poll.

The decision was made today in a meeting of Iowa's Republican State Central Committee, which finalized the ballot with nine names.

Those names include the six who reserved space at the Ames Straw Poll and were guaranteed ballot access: Minnesota U.S. Rep. Michele Bachmann, former Godfather's Pizza Chief Executive Officer Herman Cain, Michigan U.S. Rep. Thaddeus McCotter, Texas U.S. Rep. Ron Paul, former Minnesota Gov. Tim Pawlenty and former Pennsylvania U.S. Sen. Rick Santorum.

Added to the ballot today were three additional presidential candidates: former U.S. House Speaker Newt Gingrich, former Utah Gov. Jon Huntsman and former Massachusetts Gov. Mitt Romney. A write-in option will also be available.

The Ames Straw Poll, held at Iowa State University, is a key test of a candidate's organizational strength. Huntsman earlier announced that he would not compete in Iowa, while Romney said he would not actively compete in the straw poll. Romney was the winner of the 2007 Ames Straw Poll, spending about $2 million in that effort.

About The Author

Mark Tapscott

Pin It

More by Mark Tapscott

Latest in Nation

© 2018 The San Francisco Examiner

Website powered by Foundation