Moderate takes over budget committee 

In past years, a staunch progressive used to chair Board of Supervisors Budget and Finance Committee, one of the most powerful legislative committees. But Board of Supervisors President David Chiu announced new committee assignments Tuesday and appointed Supervisor Carmen Chu as chair of the budget committee. Past chairs have been former Supervisors Chris Daly, Jake McGoldrick and Aaron Peskin, and current supervisor John Avalos.

The appointment of Chu builds on Chiu’s effort to recast the board image as a break from the progressive politics of the past and also furthers the political movement of the Asian community.

The committee assignments brought criticism from Supervisor David Campos, a progressive torchbearer.

“Progressives no longer control this Board of Supervisors. For the first time since the last round of district elections in the year 2000 we have a president of the Board of Supervisors who was elected without a clear progressive majority and was elected with the full backing with the entire moderate bloc of supervisors. The loss of that control happened not at the ballot box but it happened here in City Hall,” Campos said. “The fact is that the progressive majority that until just a few days ago controlled the inner workings of this board including the make up of these committees no longer does that.”

In response, Chiu said, “I do believe that a majority of this board share the same progressive values and I think there is a danger in an overly narrow definition of what is progressive.”

He said the assignments is the right mix “that all us to work together as well as we can.”

Here are all the appointments:

Budget and Finance

- Carmen Chu, chair
- Ross Mirkarimi,.Vice-chair
- Jane Kim
- Scott Wiener
- David Chiu

City Operations and Neighborhood Services

- John Avalos, Chair
- Eric Mar, vice chair
- Sean Elsbernd

City and School District

- Malia Cohen, Chair
- John Avalos, vice chair
- Carmen Chu

Government Audits and Oversight

- David Campos, Chair
- Mark Farrell, vice chair
- David Chiu

Land Use and Economic Development

- Eric Mar, chair
- Malia Cohen, vice chair
- Scott Wiener

Public Safety

 - Ross Mirkarimi,. Chair
- Malia Cohen, vice chair
- David Campos

 Rules Committee

- Jane Kim, Chair
- Sean Elsbernd, vice chair
- Mark Farrell

Pin It

More by Joshua Sabatini

Latest in Government & Politics

© 2018 The San Francisco Examiner

Website powered by Foundation