June events, Summer Arts 2013 preview 

click to enlarge Ballet Folklórico Netzahualcoyotl opens the monthlong Ethnic Dance Festival with a free performance at noon at City Hall. - COURTESY PHOTO
  • Courtesy Photo
  • Ballet Folklórico Netzahualcoyotl opens the monthlong Ethnic Dance Festival with a free performance at noon at City Hall.

Union Street Festival

Saturday, June 1 through June 2

From 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., music, food and art vendors fill Union Street between Gough and Steiner streets.


Sunday, June 2

The British pop star brings his “Back to Bass” tour to the America’s Cup Pavilion.

Gloria Steinem

Monday, June 3

America’s pre-eminent feminist appears in conversation with Letty Cottin Pogrebin at Nourse Theatre.

Temple Grandin

Wednesday, June 5

The most famous spokeswoman for autism speaks at Nourse Theatre.

S.F. Ethnic Dance Festival

Friday, June 7

Ballet Folklórico Netzahualcoyotl opens the monthlong event with a free performance at noon at City Hall.

San Mateo County Fair

Saturday, June 8 through June 16

In its 79th year at the San Mateo County Event Center, the fair begins with The Whispers in concert. Contests, displays and a carnival round out the fun.

S.F. Free Folk Festival

Sunday, June 9

Maurice Tani, among dozens of local musicians, appears on the second day of the 37th event, which runs from noon to 10 p.m. at Presidio Middle School.

Dan Savage

Tuesday, June 11

The columnist speaks about his new book, “American Savage,” with Daniel Handler at 7 p.m. at the Castro Theatre.

Cheap Trick

Wednesday, June 12

The band known for “Surrender” and “I Want You to Want Me” appears at Napa’s Uptown Theatre.

The Hitchcock 9

Friday, June 14 through June 16

The Silent Film Festival presents nine silent Alfred Hitchcock flicks at the Castro Theatre.

North Beach Festival

Saturday, June 15 through June 16

Vendors purveying food, music and plenty of art take over Little Italy at the 59th annual free event.

Stern Grove Big Picnic

Sunday, June 16

The popular festival opens with a fundraiser and appearances by Boz Scaggs and Michael McDonald.

Wild & Crafty

Wednesday, June 19

The California Academy of Sciences teaches kids about animals in a special morning crafts session.

Rite of Spring

Thursday, June 20

Violinist Gil Shaham performs Stravinsky’s seminal work with the San Francisco Symphony at Davies Hall.


Friday, June 21

Mixing 1980s punk angst with reverb, the Memphis band plays the Hemlock.

So You Can Hear Me

Saturday, June 22 through July 20

The Marsh presents Safiya Martinez in a solo show about her experiences as a young teacher in a Bronx, N.Y., public school.

Stand Up Comedy with Rising Stars

Wednesday, June 26

SF Down Town Comedy Theater presents a potpourri of local talent.

Mods vs. Rockers

Thursday, June 27

The indie-rock club night at Amnesia in the Mission celebrates the mod and rocker subcultures.

Simon Van Booy

Friday, June 28

The award-winning author reads from his new novel, “The Illusion of Separateness,” at Booksmith.

Pride Parade

Sunday, June 30

The 43rd parade, with the theme “Embrace, Encourage, Empower,” begins at 10:30 a.m. at Market and Beale streets, and continues down Market to Eighth Street.

About The Author

Staff Report

Staff Report

A daily newspaper covering San Francisco, San Mateo County and serving Alameda, Marin and Santa Clara counties.
Pin It

More by Staff Report

Latest in Other Arts

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2015


Most Popular Stories

© 2015 The San Francisco Examiner

Website powered by Foundation